Mee-Ow Comedy Group


It all started when…

The Mee-Ow Show was founded at Northwestern University in Evanston, Illinois in 1974 by student creators & producers Paul Warshauer and Josh Lazar. The first original Mee-Ow Show, "Just in Time," was the first performance in the newly constructed McCormick Auditorium in Norris University Center. The show has been a staple of the Northwestern theatre and comedy scene ever since, still using some form of the cat as a logo each year.

A great number of Mee-Ow alumni have gone on to perform and teach improv at many of the country's top improv venues, such as Chicago's The Second City, Improv Olympic and the Annoyance Theater, New York's Magnet Theater, The P.I.T., The Upright Citizens Brigade Theatre, LA's Groundlings, iO WEST, and UCB West. Mee-Ow alumni also founded Boom Chicago in Amsterdam and created the popular TV series "Whose Line is it Anyway?"

Notable Participants Include:

Craig Bierko - Actor, "The Music Man", "Cinderella Man", "Scary Movie 3"
Heather Anne Campbell - Writer, "Saturday Night Live," "Animation Domination High-Def," Actor "Whose Line is it Anyway?" 
Ana Gasteyer - Actor, "Saturday Night Live"
Julia Louis-Dreyfus - Actor, "Saturday Night Live", "Seinfeld", "The New Adventures of Old Christine"
J. P. Manoux - Actor, "The Emperor's New School"
Josh Meyers - Actor, "MADtv", "That '70s Show"
Seth Meyers - Actor/Head Writer, "Saturday Night Live," "Late Night" 
Dermot Mulroney - Actor, "My Best Friend's Wedding", "The Family Stone"
Kristen Schaal - Actor, "Flight of the Conchords"